Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 SU carburettor setup
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Bruce Sutherland

United Kingdom
1564 Posts

Posted - 09/06/2008 :  00:39:33  Show Profile
George et al,
"What does stoichiometic mean?"
I am not a combustion expert, but a summary of a text book description follows.

For spark ignition engines (i.e. petrol as apposed to diesel) the ideal theoretical quantity of air to fuel for complete combustion is at a mass ratio of 14.7:1. This ratio value is also termed 'stoichiometric'.
Accurate control of the air:fuel ratio to stoichiometric is required for maximum efficiency of catalytic converter systems and fine tuning of the fuelling is achieved using a lambda sensor which senses an excess or deficiency of oxygen in the exhaust (excess = lean & visa-versa). This provides a closed-loop feed-back control of the fuelling.

Stoichiometric is defined as lambda=1 (air:fuel (A/F) 14.7:1).

However maximum power is generally achieved at a slightly richer fuelling (air deficiency) at lambda= 0.85-0.95; but richer fuelling causes the tailpipe CO to rise (more emissions).

I contrast, best/lowest fuel consumption is achieved with an air excess (lean) at lambda=1.1-1.2. This is for engines having air intake manifold fuel admission (i.e. 'conventional' fuel injection and carburettor fuelling systems).