Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 PA seat belts
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

leckstein

USA
411 Posts

Posted - 29/06/2008 :  13:01:56  Show Profile
I want to thank Bruce and note that his suggested solution is what I was thinking about. I was only seeking conformation from anyone who has actually done it. I did not intend to start a philosphical war over the proposal. We each drive our cars in different ways over very different roads and circumstances. I believe like most males(whether right or wrong) that I am a great driver. Been doing it now for almost fifty years. Anyone who drives a pre 55 MG (and I have three of the them) and doesn't drive them defensively with a gas tank sitting on their rear is not with us anymore.

I note that I drove in Great Britain in 1990 in a 54 TF on the Circuit Of Britain . I drove on every kind of road from motorways to singe carriageways. I had a US left hand drive car ,driving thus on the wrong side of the road. I covered more than 3000 miles with the seat belts firmly attached, and the belts did not cause one accident.

Ask those on this list who participated in the " British raids" what it was like driving in the USA and particular getting their vintage and MMM cars from the docks in New Jersey to their hotel using the twelve lane wide New Jersey Turnpike. Leaving your car as a result of an accident is certain death.