Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 Early M Type Crankshaft /Gear Assembly/Endfloat
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Robinw

United Kingdom
7 Posts

Posted - 23/01/2009 :  14:55:59  Show Profile
I have an M type of uncertain origin which developed low oil pressure. The engine was removed and carefully stripped and in the sump was found in three pieces a bronze washer which appeared to have come from the front of the crank. Having had the crank reground and new big ends cast I am rebuilding the engine. I am new to the M type and would like some advice on the correct assembly order and adjustment of the dynamo drive gear/oil pump gear/Washers??/Oil scroll.

The engine appears to be an early type with only the front main ball race. The bronze washer appears to be a running clearance against the engine mount casting. Is it a thrust washer seems like zero end float.?

There were three washers. Keyed steel washer and one steel and the bronze washer that both float over the keyed washer.

Having made a bronze washer of the same thickness as the broken one and gently reassembly of the parts with the original brass/paper gaskets the whole lot nips up the crank which I guess was the problem in the first place as the broken washer is exploded and blued.

Judging by the hammer marks on nearly ever part of the engine I think to say the least it has been bodged up in the past.

I have been unable to find a drawing of this type of engine.

Can anyone advise the correct assembly/Parts/clearances of this end of the crankshaft.

Regards
Robin

Edited by - Robinw on 23/01/2009 14:56:38

talbot

United Kingdom
718 Posts

Posted - 23/01/2009 :  19:24:56  Show Profile
Robin,