Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 Gear changing
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Jeff Shackell

United Kingdom
42 Posts

Posted - 29/08/2011 :  07:00:58  Show Profile
Hello Triple M owners. I am new to your breed of lovely cars and new to vintage car ownership so I hope you will forgive my very basic questions.

I have ventured out in our newly purchased J2 and seem to have got the knack of going up the box without too many painful noises from the gears but oh,,,just what is the trick required to go down the gears to avoid much grinding and clearly unsuccessful attempts, particularly from 3rd to 2nd?

I know they say 'practice makes perfect' but I don't want to damage the car while I hopefully get to that point.. I have had to stop on more than one occasion and start again amid huge fits of laughter so at least I am at the amusing stage of this rather than the embarrassing, but would like to think I can make clean downward changes without reaching the frustration point.

I expect this is something easier shown than written about but if anyone has a tip or two I would be pleased to hear them.

Thank you

Jeff Shackell

MGB

Netherlands
116 Posts

Posted - 29/08/2011 :  08:09:13  Show Profile
Congratulations with your new car! As a new owner (I bought my J2 in march), I understand your problem. Here is the solution:
http://www.triple-mregister.org/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4232
When you've read this, the next step is very easy: practice!

Kind regards,
Maurice

A signature is so 2010!
Go to Top of Page

Jeff Shackell

United Kingdom
42 Posts

Posted - 29/08/2011 :  08:55:36  Show Profile