Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 M type throttle
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

daveroberts

United Kingdom
75 Posts

Posted - 19/04/2012 :  21:43:04  Show Profile
Dear All,
I am new to MMM and know little about M type details.

Is a centre throttle standard or not on an M type? A friend had an M type years ago, and claimed it has a centre throttle. I have seen illustrations showing a right hand throttle, but this might not be original.

Dave Roberts
J 3758

Keith Durston

United Kingdom
711 Posts

Posted - 19/04/2012 :  22:01:24  Show Profile
Hi Dave,
I believe the early M types had a centre throttle. This was placed directly under the steering column and required a shallow metal tray let into the floorboards to allow one's feet to clear the column. Later M types have a right hand throttle and this therefore did not require the foot tray. I have a couple of original toe boards that came with my M types and although both cars had right hand throttles the toe board has a hole where the original pedal would have come through and both have identical metal patches over this hole. My guess would be that the factory was either using up toe boards that had been in stock a while or never told the toe board maker to stop drilling the hole for the centre throttle. Having thought about this hole for a moment it would have meant that the throttle linkage would have been different as the throttle pedal would have had to come up through the toe board. My later ones have the throttle pedal suspended so that it comes over the top of the toe board.
I am not sure when the changeover happened but my cars are late 1930 and early 1931. Hope this helps.
Keith
Go to Top of Page