Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 Lucas Distributor
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

William Cullen

United Kingdom
229 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2008 :  17:19:06  Show Profile
Hi All

I have a distributor type DX6A40110B/C43950 it has been fitted to a "N" engine and is the correct rotation,however the base plate inside holding the advance weights is stamped 10 degree is this the correct advance for a "N" type?

Thanks

Bill

ags

United Kingdom
275 Posts

Posted - 13/07/2008 :  23:46:46  Show Profile
Hi Bill,

Since no-one has yet responded to you I will do my best. I have lots of experience with big-cam fours, but have never done very much with sixes. Therefore I cannot judge whether you have the right distributor, but if you are confident of that then the total advance marked on your parts is correct.

Lucas marked their distributors with the angular total advance allowed by the distributor geometry. The distributor runs at half engine speed so 10 deg at distributor equals 20 deg at the crankshaft, which is the "book" figure. Whether the advance starts at the right rpm and is complete by the right rpm is another matter. This is decided by the springs and weights in the device. These are parts which are frequently either badly worn or the wrong ones used, and while they do make quite a difference to the behaviour of the engine their importance is often discounted.