Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 MG PA/PB JB 6157 "Leonidis"
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

tconsidine

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 07/01/2010 :  19:18:56  Show Profile
I was recommended to this forum by the good folks at the Classical Gas For Trials Enthusiasts blog. I'm a writer, a contributing editor for the U.S. magazine Road & Track, but now doing a non-R&T-related story for the Collier Museum in Florida. I'm writing a history of one of their cars, MG PA/PB JB 6157 (chassis number 1667), one of the three MGs (#57, I believe) run under Captain Eyston at Le Mans in 1935 by the all-woman team of drivers and later bought by Miles Collier, crashed on the road in New York, rebodied and race in the States by Collier, who also drove it at Le Mans with Lewis Welch in '1939 (note that Collier is sometimes confused with the Brit Michael Collier in records).

Specifically, what I'm looking for is provenance, any information about whether JB 6157 was driven competitively by anyone prior to Le Mans and if so, by whom, where and to what effect (and if possible, under what number). It appears the Eyston cars were tested at Brooklands before Le Mans (date?), but anywhere else?